What is Loyalty?

Down through the ages, loyalty has been earmarked as God first, family second, and country third; meaning your loyalty to God, your loyalty to family and your loyalty to your country.

Webster says, as a noun, it means the quality of being loyal to someone, or something, i.e., a strong feeling of support or allegiance.  

Fights with in-laws or family cause divided loyalties.

Synonyms of loyalty are: allegiance, faithfulness, obedience, adherence, homage, devotion, steadfastness, staunchness, true heartedness, dependability, reliability, trustworthiness, duty, commitment, patriotism, and fealty.

There are many quotes about loyalty. “Blood makes you related, loyalty makes you family,”  is one.  Followed by, “I am more concerned about who you are behind my back than who you are to my face.  Your loyalty should not depend on my presence.

Loyalty should always be considerate of the other person’s feelings.  Would you be offended if the other person did exactly the same thing to you?  

Loyalty:  A deep and beautiful word.  How deep does your love of God, family and country run? Are you ready and willing to defend your love and friendship with your accountability?

Many found fault with Trump’s address to the Boy Scouts of America and his saying loyalty was growing faint in our country.  It no longer holds the priority it once did in our lives.  He spoke the truth.  Friendships have faded, love of God has faded, love of country has been spit on and it all goes back to that basic need for loyalty from ourselves, to those we find important, whether it’s God or family or country.

So why has loyalty faded?

I don’t know. I’m not qualified to judge, I’ll leave that to God. But I will tell you this, once loyalty is kicked aside, all the other synonyms it pertains to are in danger of dying. I’d rather be old fashioned in my beliefs and loyal to the ones I love, than to be found short in the loyalty department.

It’s elementary to me, simple enough to define, simple enough to practice.  Some use the excuse, I didn’t think.  That makes a lot of sense.  Some never think before their actions.  Maybe that’s why loyalty has faded, the lack of thinking. After all, thinking requires you to use your brain and it’s just too simple now days to just toss all values out the window and let it be all about our wants, our needs and the hell with everyone and everything else.  I did it all by myself.  I am so important.

May God have mercy on us all. I am so ready for morals to once again reign throughout our land, throughout our families and throughout our churches.  I’m so ready for accountability to return regardless of sex, or age or nationality.  I’m so ready for loyalty to return and be understood and practiced. Perhaps it never will, but I chose to remain forever the optimist with loyalty to my God, my family and my country.

If that’s wrong, then so be it.  I am willing to stand accountable before God for that.  

Are you?


If you enjoyed today’s blog, and would like to read more of my writings, including the Geovanni Legends series and the Ivan Bennett of Scotland Yard series, please visit http://jrmartinauthor.com/

Leave a Reply

